Sunday, June 12, 2005

The G8 First 18

"Tomorrow, 280 million Africans will wake up for the first time in their lives without owing you or me a penny"
- Bob Geldof singer-activist and organizer of the global Live 8 concerts to highlight global poverty.

The First 18:
Benin, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guyana, Honduras, Madagascar, Mauritania, Mali, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia

BBC: For world views and comments on debt relief

The G8 nations met and have decided who gets what. Unfortunately, albeit not suprising, Nigeria is not among the beneficial countries, not yet. Nigeria is not even one of the HIPC (highly-indebted poor countries) designated nations. Twenty-seven countries are eligible for debt relief under the HIPC initiatives. The 18 that have reached completion point, that is met targets for good governance and tackling corruption, were included in the G8 package.

Nigeria is the world's seventh-largest oil exporter, but has a foreign debt of US$35 billion, the biggest in Africa...for strategic reasons maybe Nigeria will be considered for some "sort of relief". MAYBE.

These "First 18" countries "earned their position" through common sense and hard work. They didn't have to lobby as much as Nigeria did; they got the goodies, we got na-ddah. We cannot eat our cake and have at the same time. It is so simple, can't you just get it Nigeria! HELLO!!